New Bloggers!! Hooray!!!

As my part in The twitterblogosphere initiation I am posting links to these 8 new or returning bloggers!  They have described themselves well but in bold is my little add on!  I heart newbies!!  Side note of cool: I got to be the first commenter EVER on some of these blogs. ❤

Kelly Berg @kmbergie has a blog named **The M Stands for Math**. The first post for the Blogging Initiation is titled **Quick. Think. Fail. Ish.“** and the author sums it up as follows: **Third week of school and we are talking functions. I saw a mind map on pinterest to use to summarize this activity.** A memorable quotation from the post is: **But I got some awesome feedback none the less.**  I love anyone who starts this out with a fail. I am a HUGE proponent of failing and learning. Go Kelly!

Algebrainiac @algebrainiac1 has a blog named **Algebrainiac**. The first post for the Blogging Initiation is titled **New Blogger Initiative Post #1“** and the author sums it up as follows: **My ramblings about my first day back to school (it was an institute day) and my over-thought process on choosing the blog name I felt would best represent me in the online math teacher world. ** A memorable quotation from the post is: **A year ago I had a list of blog name ideas, a GREAT list of ideas, written on an infamous purple post-it that magically disappeared into the world of important lost post-its, similar to the land of lost socks.**  This blogger is so excited it is contagious. I am totally into the lurker turned new bff. Welcome Friend!!

Sarah Miller has a blog named **Proof in the City**. The first post for the Blogging Initiation is titled **First week and new ideas for the year“** and the author sums it up as follows: **I wrote about my first week at school, and what a success I thought it was. I also wrote about some changes I am making this year, including homework in sets, new projects and Common Core. ** A memorable quotation from the post is: **But I learned a lot, did some research and planning over the summer, and have some great projects coming this year.**   Sarah seems super rad. I am totally with her about the baby-ness of freshman and I am interested to hear how her different plans go.

Tim Reinheimer @timreinheimer has a blog named **Asymptotically Cool**. The first post for the Blogging Initiation is titled **asymptotically cool“** and the author sums it up as follows: **This post is about how I came up with the name asymptotically cool. The post also explores a thought about how I am on an asymptotic journey towards becoming an ideal teacher. ** A memorable quotation from the post is: **For me, dedication to teaching math is similar to the introductory horizontal asymptotes seen in Precalculus: as time moves on and I progress through my career, which sometimes seems to be infinite, I must work to get closer and closer to becoming the ideal teacher.**  Tim has me sold on his blog the moment he says he is approaching coolness but will never get there.  I feel you Tim, oh how I feel you.

Ben Owen @bahowen has a blog named **Transformations**. The first post for the Blogging Initiation is titled **First Day of Teacher Meetings“** and the author sums it up as follows: **This is the beginning of a year-long process in which I attempt to be the best teacher I can be while being held back by new district policies for testing and instruction.** A memorable quotation from the post is: **In other words, yesterday’s meetings were filled with rope and the promise of more rope to come in the next few years. I went home feeling a bit strangled.** Ben looks like he is going to have a lot to deal with this year.  One thing I don’t miss about public school is all of the testing… Good Luck, dude. :/ I will be checking in to this blog for ways to work in and around the system.

Emily Allman @allmanfiles has a blog named **Algebra, Essentially**. The first post for the Blogging Initiation is titled **My Backwards Approach to Inverse Functions“** and the author sums it up as follows: **Mostly, inverse functions are quite intuitive for kids, but somehow we manage to abstract and formalize them beyond approach. Joe, “Math Guy” helps me introduce a backwards look at inverse functions: looking at meaning first, applications second, and formalities last. ** A memorable quotation from the post is: **For me, I like the way inverse functions lend themselves to the meaning first, and symbolic abstraction second.** COMICS!!! Emily has Comics.  First I love comics, second she has camp songs!  I am all about her use of songs and art to bring students in.

gooberspeaks has a blog named **Reflections from an Asymptote**. The first post for the Blogging Initiation is titled **Card Games & Board Games“** and the author sums it up as follows: **This post is about how I, and my spouse and friends, enjoy playing card games and board games. It wonders do our simple-arithmetic-challenged students also play, and do they have a calculator nearby?** A memorable quotation from the post is: **So, do students of today play board and card games, or has that become “old fashioned”?** First of all I love any name with the word goober. 😉 But also this short but sweet post hits on an important thought, do our kids even keep score anymore?

Kristen Hahn @scmathcoach has a blog named **The Journey of Mathematics**. The first post for the Blogging Initiation is titled **Math Blogging Challenge“** and the author sums it up as follows: **This post summarizes how I titled my blog and why I began blogging as an educator. It is a brief story of my own journey of mathematics that continues.** A memorable quotation from the post is: **It has been an incredible journey that has transformed me into a mathematical thinker. **  There is always something satisfying about stealing a language arts teacher to the dark side. Kristen shares her overcoming mathphobia in this great post.

Here are the other new blogger posts!

Week ONE posts: JulieFawnAnneMeganBowmanSamLisaJohn@druinokTinaKateSue

6 thoughts on “New Bloggers!! Hooray!!!

  1. Yeah!! Thanks for reading my blog and posting comments, I appreciate it! I can’t wait to check out all of the blogs you mentioned, your personal comments draw me in. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

