Week 3: New Blogger Initiation.

Week 3 of the new bloggers…. check ’em out

Bruno Reddy @mrreddymaths has a blog named **Mr Reddy Maths Blog**. The third post for the Blogging Initiation is titled **Classic mistakes brought to you by the Simpsons“** and the author sums it up as follows: **It’s hard to have a class discussion about misconceptions without pupils feeling a bit embarrassed. However, if you talk about the misconceptions as if they belong to someone else – Lisa Simpson, for example – then that emotional reaction vanishes and you can have a very rich learning conversation about the misunderstandings.** A memorable quotation from the post is: **But when Bart makes a mistake or Lisa can’t figure something out or Homer makes a booboo, then pupils are all over it.**

.
Heather Kohn @heather_kohn has a blog named **Growing Exponentially**. The third post for the Blogging Initiation is titled **“Never really good at math, either”“** and the author sums it up as follows: **This post is about responding to parents who say they “weren’t really good at math, either!” My goal is to provide parents with the means to support their children and create an atmosphere/attitude where anyone can do math.** A memorable quotation from the post is: **I ask the parent to support me in school by supporting Rob at home and creating an atmosphere where math is a positive word.**

.
LeeAnn @lazlomek has a blog named **The Algebra Toolbox**. The third post for the Blogging Initiation is titled **Math Bloggers Initiation #3 – Math Quote“** and the author sums it up as follows: **I have one small solution for helping students get the correct answer when using a calculator to raise a negative number to a power.** A memorable quotation from the post is: **This quote reminds me so much of many of my students who just can’t understand how they got an answer wrong because, “That’s what the calculator said the answer is, so it has to be right,” with no consideration whatsoever about whether they entered the information correctly in the first place**

.
Kate  @fourkatie has a blog named **Axis of Reflection**. The third post for the Blogging Initiation is titled **From a distance“** and the author sums it up as follows: **This blogpost is a reflection on a quote from Blaise Pascal about needing to judge your work from a distance. During the school year it is easy to get caught up in the overwhelming work of teaching, but it is important to step back and appreciate what that work has yielded.** A memorable quotation from the post is: **Then I get to be amazed at how much we accomplished and how much was learned and how much my students grew as learners over the school year.**

.
DuthMath @DuthMath has a blog named **duthmath**. The third post for the Blogging Initiation is titled **First Day Icebreaker“** and the author sums it up as follows: **Getting the climate in the classroom right is important to me, and if it works, it makes the whole experience better all around. I wrote about an icebreaker that I use to get the semester started on the right foot. I would like to hear about how other teachers set their classroom climate on the first day.** A memorable quotation from the post is: **It also lets them know this is not your usual math class.**

.
Carey Lehner @careylehner has a blog named **I Am a Teacher. This is my Journey.**. The third post for the Blogging Initiation is titled **The Phrase I Dislike The Most“** and the author sums it up as follows: **This post is about my pet peeve – hearing parents excuse their children’s math abilities by saying “I was no good at math either”. I would love for parents to take a more positive approach and have empathy for the struggles but encourage persistence.** A memorable quotation from the post is: **Why do people feel it is acceptable to say that they are bad at math? **

.
Dave Enrico  @denrico1 has a blog named **Me Dot**. The third post for the Blogging Initiation is titled **Thinking Irrationally“** and the author sums it up as follows: **Billboards can be annoying, confusing, or just plain dumb. This one was all three, yet somehow inspired me to wax philosophical about irrational numbers and allowing space in the classroom for wonder.** A memorable quotation from the post is: **The proof also happens to be the first proof I ever saw that made me think, “Man, math can be beautiful.”**

.
Heather Simmons @hsimmons32 has a blog named **Mrs. Simmons Blog**. The third post for the Blogging Initiation is titled **Why I Teach Math“** and the author sums it up as follows: **This blog describes my journey to become a teacher and some of my goals as a teacher for this year. In writing it I have remembered some of those things that pushed me to teach and why I still do it each year.** A memorable quotation from the post is: **My goal is to make it the best year of their (my students) lives. **

 

Please go read comment be better than me!

2 thoughts on “Week 3: New Blogger Initiation.

Leave a comment