More New Bloggers!!! Hooray!

This week I am going to comment on their blogs instead of here….

Here they are!!!

Steve Grossberg @5teve6rossberg has a blog named It’s all math. The first post for the Blogging Initiation is titled Tiered Assessment for Geometry” and the author sums it up as follows: A colleague and I wrote our own tiered assessments for our entire Geometry course. This post tells you what I mean by “tiered assessment” and shares too many details about it. A memorable quotation from the post is: A student taking one of our quizzes always knew what we thought was deserving of an A.

.
Frank McGowan has a blog named Finding the Process. The first post for the Blogging Initiation is titled Hours of Sleep” and the author sums it up as follows: Whiteboarding is new for me this year and I am already loving it. It slows down my class, gives students huge amounts of space to get messy and brings out conversations. This post discusses a warm-up problem that hijacked my class.A memorable quotation from the post is:  I relished the opportunity to listen to the students talk math while only providing a rare nudge.

.

Andrew Stadel @mr_stadel has a blog named Divisible by 3. The first post for the Blogging Initiation is titled PEMDAS song” and the author sums it up as follows: I wrote a PEMDAS song a few years ago, recently recording it. Please use it, share it, put some cash/coins in my open guitar case, and remember to teach your kids the Left to Right rule. My nephew rocks the drums and I’m responsible for all the other noise! A memorable quotation from the post is: I know, I know, I know… math teachers need another PEMDAS song just as much as we need another Michael Bolton ballad.

.
LeeAnn @lazlomek has a blog named The Algebra Toolbox. The first post for the Blogging Initiation is titled Re-energizing after a frustrating day“” and the author sums it up as follows: A shout out to the bloggers who got me started and who were my saving grace after a hard day.  A memorable quotation from the post is: Not even a margarita cured my blues.

.
Dan Bowdoin @danbowdoin has a blog named Technology Integration for Math Engagement. The first post for the Blogging Initiation is titled Setting up Student Blogs, Scribd, and (iPad Camera)” and the author sums it up as follows: This blog post contained my thoughts on student blogs, Scribd, and the iPad camera. The edublogs platform allows for easy embedding, but has no options for width adjustments. After trying Scribd, I may just stick with students taking pictures of their work and inserting them into their digital portfolios. Read the blog to check out my new set of math whiteboards! A memorable quotation from the post is: So, in testing out how students can share documents on their blog, I have embedded my first Scribd document below.

.
Mary Dooms has a blog named Curiouser and Curiouser. The first post for the Blogging Initiation is titled Visible Learning: surprising discoveries for new teachers” and the author sums it up as follows: There are strategies that impact learning, and there are strategies that make THE MOST impact on learning. Teachers have many choices. Why not select strategies that give us the most leverage? A memorable quotation from the post is: “Knowing a student’s learning style has been driven into our heads and now you are telling us it’s not as important as we think,” one MLE student commented.

.
Kyle Eck @kylejeck has a blog named k-gram. The first post for the Blogging Initiation is titled My Favorite Lesson – “How Big is Chicago?” and the author sums it up as follows: This is a favorite activity of mine that involves using maps to estimate the land area of a city. It’s appropriate/adaptable for many age levels, and involves a good deal of problem-solving and visualization. A memorable quotation from the post is: If you’ve done it right, the kids will be burning to know “what is the actual area of the city?”

.
Cindy W @finding_EMU has a blog named findingEMU. The first post for the Blogging Initiation is titled New Blogger Initiative: Integer Context Cards” and the author sums it up as follows: After a few false starts, I successfully embedded a document using Scribd! These Integer Context Cards are multi-purpose tools for ordering integers as well as applying integer operations. A memorable quotation from the post is: I haven’t been teaching Middle School too long, in the grand scheme of things, and when I first had the opportunity to introduce Integers to a class of very low sixth graders (all Level 1 on the state test) I knew that putting them into context would make all the difference.

.
Damon Hedman @wildmath has a blog named Wild Math. The first post for the Blogging Initiation is titled Blogger Initiation Week 2: Working with Scribd” and the author sums it up as follows: Students worked together to create a review sheet using google docs which I shared on my blog with Scribd. Both tools are pretty cool. A memorable quotation from the post is: I don’t know if it helped anyone’s grade, but I think it helped build community within each class.

.
Justina Andrews has a blog named mathstina. The first post for the Blogging Initiation is titled Probability theory of Deal or No Deal” and the author sums it up as follows: The only new materials I got to create at my last practicum was a small assignment on year 10 probability. I used the game show Deal or No Deal and had students answer questions relating to the game show. A memorable quotation from the post is: I like the worksheet, but it seems to me that something’s wrong with it if I had a huge chunk of students asking me for help.

 

 

here’s the weekly round up… The round up of week two responses are here: JulieFawnAnneMeganBowmanSamLisaJohn@druinokTinaKateSue

4 thoughts on “More New Bloggers!!! Hooray!

Leave a Reply

